Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Advice Needed

Helihover

Reaction score
I took on a job a few weeks ago as a sub through a company I won’t name. I have never worked with this company before. They sent me a map of 9 “farms” that needed still shots and two of them needed video on top of the stills. I offered my bid based on the map and they accepted. After we agreed on a price I was sent a KMZ which I downloaded into google earth. When I opened this map, 3 of the addresses had changed which added approximately 18-20 hrs of extra driving. I emailed back with my concerns and was told to either wait or go ahead and shoot the 6 others. The guy in charge was on vacation and couldn’t get me an answer. I had already schedule 5 days to complete this project and was ready to go so I decided to start.

I now have had 5 of the 9 “farms” completed and I am still having problems confirming said addresses. After waiting over a week trying to get this figured out I finally get an email saying this,

“The girl who is coordinating this can't give me an answer and her boss is on vacation. Let's just stick with the original six. We can worry about the others later. I will send over the file requests.”

So this company is wanting me to send the files I have to them without confirming the rest of the job. I just have a weird feeling about this and wanted to get a different opinion on this situation. What would you guys do?

I wouldn't send the files until the person you arranged this with is back and you agree on a payment amount based on only the 5 sites. And at that same time, you can also negotiate a new separate contract for the remaining sites with additional travel time calculated -- if you both wish to pursue that. At this point, the person you arranged this with has no idea what is going on. Just my opinion.