Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Another 107.39 waiver granted

Hi Luis,

Maybe you or someone else here can help explain the waiver process to me since I am pretty new at flying. When someone is granted a waiver for something, does that mean that there is now a precedent and any drone operator can operate under the stipulation of this waiver or does it just mean that you are more likely to be approved for your own waiver since someone else already has been approved by the FAA in a specific area? Any help clarifying would be much appreciated!

-Nick

the million dollar question, Nick, it depends. I don't think precedent applies but I think you are more likely to be approved for your own waiver since someone else already has been approved by the FAA (maybe), hard to tell. You must have a waiver on hand issued to you anytime you are operating in waiver conditions (i.e., night, controlled airspace, etc.) The process requires you to demonstrate, in your application, why it will be a safe operation and how you will mitigate risk factors.

Last edited:
Hi Luis,

Maybe you or someone else here can help explain the waiver process to me since I am pretty new at flying. When someone is granted a waiver for something, does that mean that there is now a precedent and any drone operator can operate under the stipulation of this waiver or does it just mean that you are more likely to be approved for your own waiver since someone else already has been approved by the FAA in a specific area? Any help clarifying would be much appreciated!

-Nick