Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Class D no LAANC

Perch

Reaction score
Hi! I may need to contact a small local Class D airport for an approval on the edge of approach that has a 300' grid on AirMap - I only need at most 100'. They do not have LAANC available at this airport. This is a new one for me, as I have always had LAANC available for our bigger Class C airport, and so I have never had to actually contact a tower. Where do you go for phone numbers to contact? I don't have any pf the books, like AIM, that some of you may have and I won't have a radio with me. And please, I'm still learning practical parts of working within Part 107, so take it easy on me. :) Thank you!

Hi! I may need to contact a small local Class D airport for an approval on the edge of approach that has a 300' grid on AirMap - I only need at most 100'. They do not have LAANC available at this airport. This is a new one for me, as I have always had LAANC available for our bigger Class C airport, and so I have never had to actually contact a tower. Where do you go for phone numbers to contact? I don't have any pf the books, like AIM, that some of you may have and I won't have a radio with me. And please, I'm still learning practical parts of working within Part 107, so take it easy on me. :) Thank you!

For a non-LAANC serviced airport your request needs to be made online via the FAA's DroneZone. The tower is not authorized to issue any airspace approvals.

Perfect! I got it submitted. I was concerned I needed to get the drone added in my list - which would've been registering it again. It is registered with my employer, so I don't need to. But I was able to submit for approval without having it in my list. Thanks again for the help! :)

Reactions: clintsito and JDS