Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

DJI and "Pay for Play"

Dave Pitman

Reaction score
CERTIFIED AND LICENSED USERS:

DJI would like to know how much and how often you will be willing to pay to unlock your assets. (you knew it was coming)

You have the opportunity to take the survey and let DJI know (in a polite way please) how you feel about artificial restrictions placed upon properly certified users and then the scheme of charging a sizable fee, possibly annually, to remove them.

Industrial Unlocks

Attachments

• geo.JPG
    geo.JPG
    177.1 KB · Views: 59
If DJI implements this, it will be the catalyst I need to dump their product and go with an American company that understands their role in the NAS. My final comment was this: "I look at it this way. I have already paid for the aircraft, the training, and the certification. I am not going to pay to DJI to fly an aircraft I already purchased. I am a commercial operator flying for a government institution and I do not need DJI's permission or blessing to operate within America's national airspace. I certainly am not going to pay DJI for holding that airspace hostage on a flight by flight basis. I will dump my DJI aircraft in a second if you attempt to implement this and go with an American UAS company."

Is that respectful enough Dave? :)

Oh no. Is this how dji is planning on integrating AirMap LAANC approvals within thier app? Paying to operate in the NAS, sad. They already just screwed up with the dji geo 2 and the runway altitude zones requiring contacting dji for a unlock.

Perfect Buddy!