Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

FAA waiver for flying at night

Photoman482

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to all this. I do have my 107 card. I'm curious about the flying at night waiver. I work in the MD/DC/VA area mostly. Is the waiver for a very specific area? Like a particular building or street? Or can you get one for a more generalized area?

Thanks

Reactions: SanCap
I believe that they are usually for a class airspace. Uncontrolled is probably the most frequently granted I would think. For instance, say I do roof inspections frequently just after sunset. I am covered under my Daytime Waiver unless I am also flying in controlled airspace. Than I think you have to get one specifically for that mission.

Yep. Class G only. This is what mine says
“4. Operations under this Waiver may only be conducted in Class G airspace unless a separate airspace
Certificate of Waiver or Authorization specifically stating that night operations may be conducted in
controlled airspace is received from the FAA, in accordance with § 107.41. The airspace Certificate of
Waiver or Authorization to operate at night must be requested separately, and is not part of this Waiver;”

Yep. Class G only. This is what mine says
“4. Operations under this Waiver may only be conducted in Class G airspace unless a separate airspace
Certificate of Waiver or Authorization specifically stating that night operations may be conducted in
controlled airspace is received from the FAA, in accordance with § 107.41. The airspace Certificate of
Waiver or Authorization to operate at night must be requested separately, and is not part of this Waiver;”

Does it say that in your actual approval letter or cover letter? Mine does not say that anywhere. Mine went into effect 10/29/19, I wonder if they changed wording on them.