Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

From Flagstaff: help me select a drone

aldi

Reaction score
Hello All,

I am a GIS student at Northern Arizona University and am looking to generate some income for school. I have the capital to buy a setup between $500 and $1500. My main interest given my field of study is photogrammetry. Is there a drone in that price point that is suitable for those kind of projects?

Very Respectfully,
Aldi

Hi Aldi, many people are flying the type of projects you mention with a DJI Phanton 4 Pro. Your budget allows you a couple of options for a Phanton 4 Pro. We could get you a new P4P for $1499 or a DJI refurbished P4P for $1279 which would leave room for an additional battery.

You should also keep in mind how many flights you will be doing on each outing. Extra batteries are a must if you need to do a couple of flights or more per day.

Let us know if we can help.

Hello,
It is a pleasure to welcome you to the CommercialDronePilots forum.
I hope that you will be able to use the forum to further your safety knowledge, for the exchange of innovative ideas and as a resource for current developments in the commercial drone field.
Enjoy!

Hi Aldi, many people are flying the type of projects you mention with a DJI Phanton 4 Pro. Your budget allows you a couple of options for a Phanton 4 Pro. We could get you a new P4P for $1499 or a DJI refurbished P4P for $1279 which would leave room for an additional battery.

You should also keep in mind how many flights you will be doing on each outing. Extra batteries are a must if you need to do a couple of flights or more per day.

Let us know if we can help.
Thanks for the help! I have been researching and have run across the mavic pro as a comparable drone to the Phantom 4 Pro. Is there an edge that the Phantom 4 pro has over mavic for photogrammetry or in general?
Also, do you guys have a brick and mortar shop in Florida? If so, where? I am in Florida right now.