Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Hello from Kentucky

Airmapper

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm currently studying for the Part 107 Remote Pilot / sUAS rating test. I wouldn't say I'm all in just yet, but I've started by getting the ASA study guide to help prepare for the test, and joined here as a way to get a feel for the world of commercial flying.

I'm still somewhat apprehensive but I've been considering the Part 107 certification for some time. I don't really know yet specifically how I'll use my certificate should I get it, but I think successfully obtaining the certificate is probably the most important first step. I think I find the potential business end more daunting than the FAA end.

I currently have a Blade Chroma, the older 1080p camera version. Been flying it for fun over a year now, having a ball with it. Enough situations have arisen where someone has suggested I do this or that for other parties I've had to decline because I was just a hobbiest, and I'm kind of getting tired of having to turn down the idea of making money with it, or even just flying it for free for a purpose. The local Emergency Manager is one person who suggested to me he could use another name to call on for drone needs. This is probably the closest I've come to having an activity I enjoy doing with the potential of making income instead of being dead expense, or actually being useful outside goofing off.