Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Hello from Michigan!

SteveyG

Reaction score
My son and I recently completed part 107. I knew nothing of drones 5 months ago, took the class so that they had enough students for my son to complete the course (local community college). Then, the bug hit! Bought a MA2 for recreational flying, now thinking of next steps. My background is investment management; lots of contacts in various industries, little transferable skills in drone use. Looking at a certificate in geomatics, thermal certificate as places to start, but do not want to go too far down the rabbit hole with no end-game plan. I live between two large cities and a lot of farm land. As I am quickly realizing, the value is in the data and interpretation, not in the drone flight itself. Hoping to learn from others' experiences and contribute. Next purchase likely a Phantom 4 due to its utility.

Welcome to CDP .
Look around and find what your interest is and let it rip . Have any question's feel free to ask any staff
in a message concerning the forum and glad you have joined .
Enjoy and be safe .
0rojyyg-png.363

Reactions: Mavikhan
Welcome to CDP .
Look around and find what your interest is and let it rip . Have any question's feel free to ask any staff
in a message concerning the forum and glad you have joined .
Enjoy and be safe .
0rojyyg-png.363
Thank you!

Reactions: dirkclod
Welcome, with an investment background that is a plus, you understand it takes money to make money. There are plenty of threads hear about various drone applications. Don't waste your time with real estate. Construction, cell tower inspections, and power line inspections, and mapping seem to be areas with a good potential profit.
Be sure to develop the flying and photography skills before you start seeking work. You don't need to be a professional photographer but you need a basic understanding of photography and video.