Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

High Startup Costs of Thermal Imagery

Pelagic One

Premium Pilot
Reaction score
I’ve been doing mapping and inspection-quality imagery for clients for a couple years now, and am investigating the costs associated with adding thermal imaging to my service offerings. I am including the in-person FLIR Level 1 certification classes (along with flight, car rental and hotel costs), as well as adding a new thermal-capable UAV to the squadron. And I do realize that all that won’t necessarily make me a professional thermographer without putting in plenty of practice time.

So without revealing your specific charge to your clients, how much more do thermal imaging jobs cost? Would you say it’s like 3x or 4x what you’d charge for a simple “pavement, rooftop and facade” job?

I would appreciate a Private Message if you want to be more specific.

I can't speak to the price of thermal imaging jobs since I don't have any clients of my own yet, but just to mention in passing that I recently completed the sUAS Level I Thermography Certification online (https://courses.infraredtraining.com/index.cfm?action=registration.schedule&courseId=25). Saved me the cost of a hotel/rental/meals, and very good training specifically for drone pilots. You might want to check that out if you haven't already.

Congratulations on your new Level 1 cert. I hope you’ll share all the good things you’re about to do!

Many online are proponents of the extra education you’ll get from in-person training, including networking with other students around the country. But yes, I’ll look forward to other comments here for on-site vs Internet-based training.

Congratulations on your new Level 1 cert. I hope you’ll share all the good things you’re about to do!