Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Smart Controller and Orthomosaic Mapping

Heed

Reaction score
I think I've figured out that the Smart Controller just isn't going to work for this angle in my business.

I've searched threads on multiple forums as well as dug some holes in the interwebs.

I gave Litchi a try today and it "may" work with some effort. I used Mapsmadeeasy.com point estimator to develop the routing based on the M2P camera, location and height.

I then exported that file and imported into Litchi. I had to add the extra waypoints in between the main route points as that is all MME showed and exported. MME easy showed 5 legs, 35 photos. I calculated the distance between points to match the MME points estimator for 7 photos per leg.

I flew the mission and stitched the images in MME.

There were some holes and gaps. Manually looking at the images, it looked like I had sufficient overlap, but admittedly I am quite new to this. With time I might be able to perfect this technique and really reduce the time to develop the mission.

I think the limitation was the MME points estimator as it developed the routing somewhat lopsided with more coverage on one side than the other. I am knew to MME as well.

As I don't think there are any apps I can install on the Smart Controller, it looks like I will need to purchase the standard controller.

I've seen the Drone Deploy in action via interweb videos and it looks to be simple and easy to use for the automation and image capture portion of the mission.

Am I missing a solution out there for the Smart Controller?

Thanks.

Last edited:
One of the major drawbacks with the smart controller and crystalsky monitors are their lack of accepting 3rd party apps. Litchi is about as much as you will get, Dronedeploy & Pix4D which are the staple apps in the industry are a no go and I have not seen any effort on DJI's part to open up the SC or Crystalsky's to accept them as add on apps.