Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

The Great Insurance Information Thread of 2018!

AviationBroker

Approved Vendor
Reaction score
Hello,

My name is Joe Ernster and I am an aviation insurance broker at Bullock Agency, Inc. I have insured manned risks since January of 2011 and unmanned risks since 2015. Since I began insuring unmanned operations, I have added 300+ commercial UAS customers to my books. My clients run the gamut from single pilots with a single "prosumer" UAV to teams of pilots operating fleets very sophisticated UAS. The uses of these aircraft include agriculture, real estate, construction, fire fighting, movie/TV production, marketing, events, LiDar, mapping, inspection, law enforcement, wildlife conservation, news gathering, instruction/training, research and development, security surveillance, oil/gas support, drone light shows, and even the military (I am sure I am forgetting some uses).

We are appointed with all of the best aviation insurance companies out there. We work with AIG Aerospace, Old Republic Aerospace, Allianz, Global Aerospace, QBE, USSIC, USAIG, LAU, and XL. Of the 300+ unmanned risks I Insure, I would say that 240+ are with Global Aerospace.

I will make relevant posts on this thread as often as possible. The purpose of the posts will be to educate the community on many general and specific concepts in the UAS insurance industry.

This first post will focus on very general concepts in UAS insurance. I have provided links below to various content that I have created, or assisted in creating, from around the web. Topics include - liability, hull, payload, non-owned liability, non-owned hull, non-owned payload, personal injury, and ground equipment coverage. I have provided links below covering these topics. I will address more "advanced" topics in UAS insurance in subsequent posts.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask. I am here to help.

Drone U Podcast Interview