Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Web site recommendations

LeeB

Reaction score
I'm a new 107 pilot getting started with an aerial imagery business, creating a brand and building a web site. I've been looking at web hosting site targeted to photography businesses. They offer what I think I'm looking for (general information with a portfolio, customer specific pages and general sales of stock imagery). Several offer video hosting as well as pictures but aerial imagery includes more that just photos and videos. I've looked at Pixpa, Photobiz, Zenfolio and SmugMug.
Does anyone out there have some suggestions/recommendations on building out an aerial imagery commercial/e-commerce web site? I haven't made a decision on which way to go and am looking for some guidance.
Thanks in advance.

Reactions: BigAl07
Welcome to the forum :)

I don't have any suggestions but hopefully some of our members can offer some to help guide you going forward.

Allen

Reactions: dirkclod
Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .?

Reactions: BigAl07
Wordpress is currently the most popular framework for creating business sites. It is incredibly flexible with tons of plugins to do whatever you need, however it isn't easy to go from 0 to a full-functioning site as there is a bit of a learning curve. There are tons of WP developers/designers to help if you ever get stuck. Long term, that is probably where you want to be.

If you aren't ready to bite off that level of complexity, I'd recommend squarespace for a photo site as they have some great artsy-like templates. It is also easier to get up and going with squarespace but harder to find help if you need custom stuff done. https://www.squarespace.com/

Hire a web developer to design and implement what you want and need.

Then take over for updates and content additions.