Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Advice for a newbie, please

hopeful

Reaction score
Hi, dear Pros.

I would like to get your advice on becoming a professional drone pilot. It seems to be a promising field to start a career in. I am 22, in Canada. Never flown a drone. Have a bit of money to invest. Could you please give me some advice about:

- how to find if aptitude is there
- how to pick a flying school
- which drone to buy to learn with, and that cold then be used in the beginning for getting paid contracts. A not too expensive one would make sense for a newbie
- any helpful info would be appreciated.

My questions are likely not the best to ask in my situation. So please give me any info you think might be useful.

I am in the USA so I can not recommend a fight school in Canada, But I am a college professor that teaches Drone Flight Studies in SoCal. I recommend for learning the DJI Mini 2. Its about $500 US, this drone has a 4K Camera and can be used for creating professional video and pictures for local sporting events, weddings, birthdays and residential real estate work. Its a great drone to learn on, and it uses the same app and controllers that the higher end DJI drones do. So once you learn how to use it, you can always move up and get a more robust DJI drone and flying it will be the same as the mini. How do I know the mini is so good, 50 students in my last semesters classes ended up buying them to start out their careers.

Reactions: Gagey52
Depending on where you are, Fanshawe College (Norton Wolf School of Aviation and Aerospace Technology) has an excellent commercial RPAS course.

Online, for ground school, there is none better than Coastal Drones (contact Kate Klassen, the Head of Education there, who is also involved with the RPAS Taskforce).