Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Anyone develop on Cesium platform?

txDroneCo

Reaction score
Website
www.txdroneco.com
I came across this platform after looking at DroneDeploy code. Looks to be an open source web platform that could be used to build client visuals. I would be willing to work with someone to build something out if anyone knows what they’re doing. I am not a programmer at all and would just rather work with someone else.

From a 30 second glance at the cesium web site ... (which means I'm happy for someone to correct any of this that I got wrong.) :)

- Cesium looks interesting and powerful if your use case is a good fit.
- It looks like you need to sign up for an account to use the system. There is a free personal account option with a 5Gb storage limit.
- It looks like cesium hosts/serves all your 3d map content. Is there a way to use the software tools and host the code and data entirely yourself?
- Each plan has a limit on per month data streaming.
- I don't see anything about open-source on the site.

Speaking for myself, I ended up building a 3d rendering app using python + the panda3d package. There are strengths and weaknesses to this choice ... like any choice.

One of my average data sets could be 10-20-30+ Gb which quickly pushes me into cesium's commercial (or premium?) category. Only a small number of people are periodically interested in my maps, so I would probably hit the data storage limit way before I would hit the streaming limit.