Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Authorization for flying higher than LAANC/ flying at night

DronyRomo

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I am a Part107-licensed videographer for a University located not far from a Class C Airport. I'm interested in getting authorizations for two things:
-Flying above the 200ft LAANC limit
-Flying at night

I'm a bit confused about what type of waiver to fill out for this.
As I was filling out the airspace authorization waiver on the DroneZone website, as soon as I identified the airport, I got a message saying that since this is a LAANC-capable airport, I should use LAANC to get authorization. But LAANC only allows up to 200ft. So where do I find the right waiver to fill out?
Also, can I just fill out a single waiver requesting the higher altitude authorization at all hours, or do I need to fill out a separate one for flying at night?

I've spent countless hours familiarizing myself with the regulations so it's quite frustrating to still be so lost. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Day time waivers are submitted separately. Separate application via DroneZone.
----------------------------------------------------------

Authorizations are also a separate issue and you must make a strong case to exceed the LAANC 200 feet to the feds, very difficult to do. The LAANC FAM maximum altitude has been determined the max altitude to maintain a safe airspace. You should apply but don't expect approval.

To submit a "further coordination request" if you need to fly above the designated altitude ceiling in a UAS Facility Map, up to 400 feet. Applicants may apply up to 90 days in advance of a flight and the approval is coordinated manually through the FAA. (available to Part 107 pilots only).

If you are planning an operation in controlled airspace that requires a waiver AND an airspace authorization you must apply for both through the FAA's DroneZone.