Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Contracting as Pilot for Their Drone

Guardian44

Reaction score
Hi-

I'm new at the drone business, so I'll admit upfront that I don't know yet what I don't know. I have a lead for a job with a roofing company. In our initial conversation, it seems that the vision they have is me, as a contractor, not an employee, piloting a drone which they own, doing roof photos/inspections. I'm not sure about the details of what they will need, but they apparently have the software, and a drone (don't know what it is yet either).

My question so far is about insurance. I have a base liability policy, through DroneInsurance.com, with the drone I own. Do I need to get some kind of further insurance to cover liability while I'm flying their drone? Would it be covered by their insurance? Might they have to pick up a new policy of some kind?

I'm only in the beginning stages of talking to them, but I wanted to get some input so that I can be knowledgable when I speak with them further next week sometime.

Feel free to let me know what else I don't know to ask!

Thanks

EDIT: Yes, I am part 107 certified.

Last edited:
I had an home inspection business and used my drone (Phantom 4 at the time) for that exact purpose. At that time I carried a 1 mil liability policy, I have learned since that if your drone injures someone that 1 mil is a drop in the bucket.

I'm assuming you have your 107 license. The drone for mapping roofs is a very effective tool. I would do a video of the entire roof, then do still photos of any potential problem areas. It saves a lot of climbing and walking roofs.

Reactions: BigAl07
Hi-