Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

...downtown LA flight questions.

zander lane

Reaction score
...hello, I've been flying commercially for two years now but have done mainly suburban real estate imagery and wedding footage, usually at gorgeous clifftop venues, winery estates and other wide open private areas - I now have an assignment to fly a wedding in downtown LA, specifically a church in chinatown and a high rise luxury hotel on wilshire blvd right among many other high rises - my gut instinct is to not fly there, but the area shows no restrictions in the airmap app...just wondering what some seasoned vets would suggest doing in this situation - thanks everyone!

...hello, I've been flying commercially for two years now but have done mainly suburban real estate imagery and wedding footage, usually at gorgeous clifftop venues, winery estates and other wide open private areas - I now have an assignment to fly a wedding in downtown LA, specifically a church in chinatown and a high rise luxury hotel on wilshire blvd right among many other high rises - my gut instinct is to not fly there, but the area shows no restrictions in the airmap app...just wondering what some seasoned vets would suggest doing in this situation - thanks everyone!
I suggest you'll get more informed answers if you post the exact location on a sectional...

...good call; here's the exact location info:

first location:
Intercontinental Hotel
900 Wilshire Blvd, LA, CA 90017

second location:
St. Anthony's Croatian Catholic Church
714 Alpine St, Los Angeles, CA 90012

IMG_8588.PNGIMG_8587.PNG

...thanks for any guidance!

Well the first location is under the LAX Class B airspace (starts at 2500) and well outside the FAM grid for LAX. Your second location is very close to the first.
The next concern is City filming permits for LA, a topic I know nothing about.