Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!
Sign up

Drone based thermography quality and usability.

dougcjohn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2018
Messages
517
Reaction score
191
Age
64
We actually got a reply from one of the vendors we approached. They sent us a couple of images. One was a converted file and that was perfectly usable in FLIR Tools.

The biggest downside of the M2EA I discovered is the lack of live thermal tuning abilities. That's a real downer for a thermographer. You might miss some smaller issues because of the automatic level/span.
Interesting and good to see... the "convertor" to move to FLIR format & Tools. Do you have any lead or pointer to where or who makes that convertor. I assume the convertor takes a DJI File and converts to FLIR file format?
 

dougcjohn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2018
Messages
517
Reaction score
191
Age
64
In searching... I did find a purchased convertor product that takes 3rd Party thermal images and converts to FLIR R-JPEG & TIFF.
It does specifically state DJI to FLIR.

 
  • Like
Reactions: MikeA

bodejodel

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
5
Age
41
Interesting and good to see... the "convertor" to move to FLIR format & Tools. Do you have any lead or pointer to where or who makes that convertor. I assume the convertor takes a DJI File and converts to FLIR file format?
I will know soon. My boss went ahead and bought the M2EA. He got a sweet deal on a very complete package including all the needed and available drone courses and licenses for me and my colleagues.

If we get a lot of requests for dronework we can always expand and upgrade.
 

MCW LLC

Active Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
12
Age
44
YES, User Defined Temp setting... any 20220502_145920.jpg temps you want, here are pics and more pics of the options. It's a great sensor!!
 

MCW LLC

Active Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
12
Age
44
More...
 

Attachments

  • 20220502_150231.jpg
    20220502_150231.jpg
    985.9 KB · Views: 10
  • 20220502_150159.jpg
    20220502_150159.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 9
  • 20220502_150117.jpg
    20220502_150117.jpg
    998.3 KB · Views: 9
  • 20220502_145920.jpg
    20220502_145920.jpg
    941.2 KB · Views: 9
  • 20220502_145858.jpg
    20220502_145858.jpg
    914.4 KB · Views: 9
  • 20220502_145840.jpg
    20220502_145840.jpg
    892.5 KB · Views: 10
  • 20220502_145831.jpg
    20220502_145831.jpg
    924 KB · Views: 9

dougcjohn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2018
Messages
517
Reaction score
191
Age
64
YES, User Defined Temp setting... any View attachment 3520 temps you want, here are pics and more pics of the options. It's a great sensor!!
Very nice, thanks for verifying!
That would be "nice software"... since same sensor as the M2EAdv, but software more advanced than provided by DJI SW.

That's interesting how the Autel SW for same Sensor is more feature rich on Thermo configurations.

I purchased the EVO2 Ent 6K (returned) with original plans to add one of the Thermal payloads. Wasn't overly impressed with craft and didn't hear positive comments on Thermo software. Your info changes that to where the EVO 2 Ent may be a good option.

I'll wait to hear what's available on the M30 for Thermo Software before decision.... the M30 isn't excessively higher in cost for the added capabilities within the payload & craft... and if possible, I'd prefer to use DJI with the expressions on the Autel site recently.
 

MCW LLC

Active Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
12
Age
44
I love my EVOs to be frank, the RTK is spot on, I have the EVO RTK V1 units, not the enterprise units
 

Attachments

  • MONEY.jpg
    MONEY.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 1
  • Like
Reactions: dougcjohn

bodejodel

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
5
Age
41
YES, User Defined Temp setting... any View attachment 3520 temps you want, here are pics and more pics of the options. It's a great sensor!!
I Thanks for looking it up. I see what they did now. They made a hybrid of the true isotherm function and the span. If I'm not mistaken they use the regular color palette to display the image between the set isotherms? I did a little search and found out DJI does the same thing.

I think that might even be a better implementation of isotherms than on my FLIR. I'd have to work with it first to know for sure.

On my FLIR T640bx and all previous thermal camera's the isotherms used an accent color over a washed out greyscale image to highlight the temperatures under, over or within the set isotherms. The Span function was used to narrow down the color pallette so everything under and over the set span was displayed in the outermost colors of the pallette.
See the attached examples I just shot. One is with the span pinched down to 2 degrees, the other is with the span on auto and the isotherms set to the same 2 degrees. (sorry for the pictures of the screen. Just found out I haven't set up the link between my phone and camera yet.)
 

Attachments

  • 20220503_072347.jpg
    20220503_072347.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 8
  • 20220503_072311.jpg
    20220503_072311.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 8
  • Like
Reactions: MCW LLC

dougcjohn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2018
Messages
517
Reaction score
191
Age
64
I Thanks for looking it up. I see what they did now. They made a hybrid of the true isotherm function and the span. If I'm not mistaken they use the regular color palette to display the image between the set isotherms? I did a little search and found out DJI does the same thing.

I think that might even be a better implementation of isotherms than on my FLIR. I'd have to work with it first to know for sure.

On my FLIR T640bx and all previous thermal camera's the isotherms used an accent color over a washed out greyscale image to highlight the temperatures under, over or within the set isotherms. The Span function was used to narrow down the color pallette so everything under and over the set span was displayed in the outermost colors of the pallette.
See the attached examples I just shot. One is with the span pinched down to 2 degrees, the other is with the span on auto and the isotherms set to the same 2 degrees. (sorry for the pictures of the screen. Just found out I haven't set up the link between my phone and camera yet.)
For my understanding, could you indicate which one is which... I'm assuming 072311 is the pinched down 2 degrees.

You found same / similar settings on M2EA? I was under assumption M2EA was limited in several thermal settings.
 

bodejodel

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
5
Age
41
The yellow one is the one with the isotherm function. It is a temperature alarm which only shows the areas between 13 and 15 degrees while the span is on auto.

The other one is the one with the pinched thermal span. All the colors of the palette are distributed over the areas that have a temperature between 13 and 15 degrees.

This clip shows the isotherm function on the M2ED. I hope the M2EA works at least in the same way.
 

dougcjohn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2018
Messages
517
Reaction score
191
Age
64
The yellow one is the one with the isotherm function. It is a temperature alarm which only shows the areas between 13 and 15 degrees while the span is on auto.

The other one is the one with the pinched thermal span. All the colors of the palette are distributed over the areas that have a temperature between 13 and 15 degrees.

This clip shows the isotherm function on the M2ED. I hope the M2EA works at least in the same way.
That's what I assumed... photo 072311 was 2 degrees.
I understand isotherm... just wanted to verify which photo was on the pinched 2 degrees.
Thanks!
 

richk

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
71
I downloaded Thermoconverter to run on my pc ,but when I try to open the program I get an hourglass for a second then nothing. I can't seem to get it to open
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
3,804
Messages
35,040
Members
5,332
Latest member
muneebawan