Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Fly mission based on polyline shapefile?

MavicMapper

DSAR Member
Reaction score
I am seeking to fly a mission on my M2P along the alignment of some polylines from a GIS shapefile. Specifically, I am wanting to fly the alignment of some minor roadways for the purpose of photographing pavement distresses and building orthomosaics.

Does anyone know of a way to accomplish this? I have been using Pix4D capture to plan missions but I do not know of a way to fly a predefined polyline using this app. I realize that I could manually plot the mission but I want to avoid that as I have many roadway alignments to fly. Are there other apps that have this capability?

Full disclosure: I am very new to drone mapping so forgive me if my question is very elementary. It would be great if there is a quick and dirty solution that I don’t know about!

Many thanks in advance!

I am seeking to fly a mission on my M2P along the alignment of some polylines from a GIS shapefile. Specifically, I am wanting to fly the alignment of some minor roadways for the purpose of photographing pavement distresses and building orthomosaics.

Does anyone know of a way to accomplish this? I have been using Pix4D capture to plan missions but I do not know of a way to fly a predefined polyline using this app. I realize that I could manually plot the mission but I want to avoid that as I have many roadway alignments to fly. Are there other apps that have this capability?

Full disclosure: I am very new to drone mapping so forgive me if my question is very elementary. It would be great if there is a quick and dirty solution that I don’t know about!

Many thanks in advance!

I don't believe Drone Deploy or Pix4D capture support polyline planning. They just assume polygons.

UgCS definitely can create a waypoint Mission from polylines, I believe Map Pilot and possibly Litchi do as well.

Reactions: R Martin