Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Flying Mini 3 Pro Indoors

Sanpanza

Reaction score
Hi folks, I am a commercial photographer in Los Angeles (www.carreonphotography.com) I want to fly my Mini 3 Pro indoors and am wondering how to disengage satellite guidance so the drone is not always looking for a signal.
The space is empty and very large so I think I can do this smoothly if I disengage satellite guidance.

I have tried once but the drone was jumping all over the place which I believe is do to seeking satellite guidance.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

The drone will not try to seek out a satellite signal. The signal is either available or it isn't. You won't have any satellite connection indoors anyway, as you need open sky for that. But you can manually turn off GPS if you like by placing the drone into ATTI mode -- but it will tend to drift without constant stick input on your part anytime you are flying indoors, with or without GPS mode turned on.

Last edited:
The drone will not try to seek out a satellite signal. The signal is either available or it isn't. You won't have any satellite connection indoors anyway, as you need open sky for that. But you can manually turn off GPS if you like by placing the drone into ATTI mode -- but it will tend to drift without constant stick input on your part anytime you are flying indoors.
OK, I noticed it lurching off path when I did a fly-through the first time. I have also been told that this would happen but drone operators I have hired in the past. Additionally, I am told that there is no way to disconnect from the Satellites. Is that what ATTI mode is?

I will give it a couple of more shots before I buy the Avata.

Last edited: