Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

General question on mapping

Slade Steele

Reaction score
Website
www.franksphotos.com
I have been flying drones since 2010 and much of my current work is in the SAR area and more complex inspections. I have a M30T that works great for what I do but I have been thinking about expanding into mapping and really don't know much about it. I am looking at the DJI Mavic 3 Enterprise E series that has a 20mp camera with a 4/3 sensor and mechanical shutter. I guess my question is probably way too broad, but I am curious about entry points to doing mapping services including barriers to entry and what kind of fees it might generate.

Thanks

Morning, I see no one answered your question. I do a fair bit of mapping a month (right now 8 sites that are either monthly or bi-weekly). My suggestion would be to try and get a used Phantom 4 Pro and start with that. A MP3E is a huge investment with no work lined up. As far as entry points my suggestion would be to (and I know I'm going to take flak for this but it is what it is) find an aggregator that pays decently, not the $50-75 type offers but $150-200 per flight at a minimum, and get some experience there. Those flights will help you to understand your deliverables, how to set up missions, how to fix issues in the field, and what is required to fly a site of 10 acres, 50-100 acres, and over 200 acres. Try and get access to one of the processing software (they have free trials). I've used DroneDeploy, Pix4d, WebODM, and Agisoft Metashape to process my maps.