Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Heli Pilot looking to transition to UAS

Avigator

Reaction score
I recently interviewed with a UAS logistics company called Zipline. I have a second interview next week. I am currently a 2500 hr helicopter pilot and have a decent, steady job.

Has anyone made the transition from traditional aviation into the UAS world? Anyone familiar with Zipline or drone delivery companies?

I would be taking a step back in pay and taking a somewhat entry level role with hopes to move up in the ranks quickly. My thinking is that the ceiling will be much higher with a UAS company as I believe that industry will continue to grow and innovate while establishing itself and cutting in to markets that traditional aviation currently hold. This is just an assumption though, I am really completely new to the commercial drone world.

Thanks for any input

Hi Avigator,

I am currently interviewing with DroneUp, first phone interview on Monday 6/6, for a sUAS pilot position with one of their Walmart drone delivery sites (don't know where yet). I have worked for myself as an aerial photographer and as an employee at a Surveying & Civil Engineering company doing LIDAR mapping of construction sites with a 200k drone!. I have since quit the Surveying job as the pay was very, very low (less than $20 an hr) and the hours were long and working at construction sites is not fun! Wasn't for me.

Can you tell me why you are looking to leave a "decent" full-time flying job for lower pay and an insecure future? In my opinion, the Commercial drone industry is still very much in it's infancy...and who knows what will happen in the next couple of years. With the FAA's remote ID requirement comming next year...it will have a dramatic effect on the industry and weed out the weak players.