Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Retired, Looking for Something Different

andrew124C41

Reaction score
I am a retired physician also a GA pilot neither of which really generalize in terms of transferable skills to start a drone business.

I had to stop flying for medical reasons so to keep my hand in aviation, I joined a local club to learn to fly RC aircraft which I find much more difficult than flying a plane you are sitting in! I also picked up an E2P because we live near the DC SFRA and guys I know who also live outside but on the edge get locked out by DJI anyway. I digress.

Recently, I fell into a mapping mission project. My wife and I help out the Sisters who live in a Monastery on a large property not far from us. It turns out they needed an aireal view of part of their property in order to obtain a grant. So, I got a trial of Drone Deploy, shot the mission with the Explorer App and came up with a really nice map.

The long and short of it is that I am interested in starting a part time business. Not sure if mapping is the way to go because I don't have any background in surveying. Drone Deploy is very expensive for someone not doing a thriving business.

So, perhaps inspections... Not sure. I recently met someone has a photography business and uses his drone for real estate. I don't think that is the kind of thing I would like to do.

Therd is something about mapping and inspection type work that seems more interesting to me.

(I have this itch to take pics and video of a big construction project but it is within the DC SFRA and I can't imagine the construction company or the FAA giving me permission. There are 3 large cranes on the site and I just thought it would be interesting.)

Can you suggest any online courses. How about Drone Command? Any ideas or advice would be appreciated.