Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Basic Navigation Question

Ydhtbiotsao

Reaction score
I don't have a drone yet. I am studying for 107. As I study the sectional charts and all the restrictions, I have to think drones are programmable. I suppose the pilot has to plug in the to-from coordinates, the coordinates of obstructions, the coordinates outlining airspaces B, C, D, E, G, etc., etc., etc.,.....,......
Or not?
If all this stuff has to be programmed into a drone, are there programs the pilot can buy and just download into the drone? I can imagine each sectional might come with such a program.
Also, if there are such programs, could you tell me the approximate cost? Finally, what about the cost of drones that are programmable?
Thank you.

No. You do not have to program the drone. Some drones, like DJI, are programmed to not take off in certain airspace-restricted areas. You must get approval through LAANC then you have to go to the DJI flysafe website to get an unlock key. You will receive instructions from DJI on how to do the unlock.

If you're flying a none DJI drone and one that does not have geo fencing you still must go through the approval process in the restricted air space, but it is the pilot's responsibility to stay within the approved perimeter.

Have you ever flown or been around a Remote Controlled Airplane? Or Remote Controlled Car or Boat?

Exactly the same concept with a Drone/UAS. You "fly" the aircraft by putting "Control Inputs" into the Remote Control and those signals go to the aircraft telling it to change the speed or direction or altitude of the aircraft.

Reactions: GFields
Actually I didn't follow what you were saying. I have driven little cars and boats with remote controls. Never an airplane. But cars and boats do not have as many restrictions. Drones have so many restrictions! I do not feel like I could think fast enough. So I was thinking I would want to program everything ahead of time.