Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

DJI "Remote Identification" Features and Usage

Zzzoom3

Reaction score
Is anyone flying DJI enabling the remote identification features? If so, what do you typically enter in the "Identification" and "Flight Information " fields?

I was thinking I would use my UAS Registration # and a brief description of what I am doing. Since I am also a private pilot, I usually carry a portable Air Band radio so I can monitor any traffic around airfields and I will enter the frequency I am monitoring. I imagine this is mostly useless to any pilot in the area but perhaps this information will eventually be integrated into ADS-B broadcasts???

If you review the white papers below, it sounds like the data being broadcast can only be viewed by DJI customers who have invested in an AeroScope receiver anyway.

I was curious if anyone has more info or any direct experience with this?
Call Sign "Zzzoom"

Aeroscope is a dji product they are trying to market to regulators. Remote ID of uas may become the norm in the future but will most likely not be Aeroscope. DJI is kind of shooting themselves in the foot as they are trying to distance themselves from the notion that they collect user data.

Reactions: BigAl07
There's nothing to enter in them at the minute unless you want to put something in for fun as there's little to nothing that can listen in. But, in future, expect to enter at least your pilot registration ID and a unique ID for your aircraft. Flight info can be anything you want now, but in future might also end up including aircraft telemetry and home point so the good guys can home in on you ;) when they want to feel your collar.