Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Flying over people and/or moving vehicles

BryanD

Reaction score
Really trying to understand what the restrictions are. I see a lot of videos of people flying over cities and roadways where there are obviously people and moving vehicles. But they are probably 200 feet up. Does that make a difference?

A little background on why I am asking. I have been flying RC airplanes at an AMA club for the past 17 years. I am trying to figure out how to fly outside the friendly confines of my club field - trying to fly safely, responsibly and respect people's privacy. As a result, I am having difficulty figuring out where to fly my Phantom other than at my club field or at my house. I have my Part 107 Certification but for now only flying as a hobbyist but want to fly as though flying as commercial.

Just trying to figure out how to feel comfortable flying outside the confines of my club field. Also struggling with picking a place to launch from. Never sure if it is okay to take off from the parking lot - is it private property or public?

Please help, I want to fly my Phantom somewhere other than my club field but hesitant t do so.

Full disclosure: I am no expert. My understanding is that the concern for flying over people is one of possible mechanical failure, as opposed to pilot error. Thus, the restriction is essentially unlimited in terms of altitude. That regulation is however under much discussion and can be waived (Section 107.39, Operation over people.).

As a hobbyist, even if you fly at the lake, or in an open field you will eventually fly over people. From my perspective it is inevitable. I think the rule is intended to be for one to not fly over crowds, and/or hover over people.