Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

LAANC basic questions

aerialimagery

Reaction score
I'm new to this and am not clear about how to access it and what it costs. I found a vendor (Skyward) but their annual fee is very high. Is there any way to do it for free? Does the request to fly need to be done live while on location or can it be done in advance from a desktop computer?

You can setup a free basic Skyward account. I did it recently and submitted and recieved a LAANC authorization through Skyward for free. If you want all the extra bells and whistles that will cost more.

Reactions: Bob L and BigAl07
I'm new to this and am not clear about how to access it and what it costs. I found a vendor (Skyward) but their annual fee is very high. Is there any way to do it for free? Does the request to fly need to be done live while on location or can it be done in advance from a desktop computer?
Getting a LAANC approval on Skyward is free. Just set up an account.

Reactions: Bob L and BigAl07
Have any of you who used it been able to get immediate authorization in a zero cell? If so, how high could you go? Thanks for the responses.

I suppose I should just go over there and work with it--but one more question. How big of a window of time can you set, and do you have to call the tower when you're on station?

I tried it out and it works great!

One problem is that in an area I wanted to go it said:
  • ATC has temporarily disabled LAANC requests for this area. Please try again later.
Has anyone else run into this and will it eventually be resolved. This was in the Los Angeles area.

I tried it out and it works great!

One problem is that in an area I wanted to go it said:
  • ATC has temporarily disabled LAANC requests for this area. Please try again later.
Has anyone else run into this and will it eventually be resolved. This was in the Los Angeles area.