Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Lifespan of the mechanical shutter of the DJI M3E

a2k-media

Reaction score
Website
www.schwabencopter.de
Hello dear members, DJI Mavic 3E pilots and experts,
I use the DJI Mavic 3 E - like most - to take photos to create models or plans via photogrammetry. I use the camera's mechanical shutter. We all know that a very large number of recordings are made during such missions. Depending on the mission, task and required quality, this can be several hundred or many thousands of photos.

I'd be interested to know how many releases this shutter can make before it's broken.

As a professional photographer, I know that the lifespan of camera shutters is limited, precisely because they are mechanical and therefore inevitably subject to wear and tear. With professional cameras (DSLR/DSLM e.g. Canon cameras) is about 100,000 shots and with flagship models like I use them (Canon R5) about 400,000 - 500,000 shutter releases before the shutter has to be replaced. It is therefore also important for the calculation to know when to expect a failure. In other words, a replacement of the camera or a repair of the drone and what costs you have to expect.

In addition, I am interested in whether damage to the closure due to high stress is also covered by DJI Care if the closure breaks within the coverage period.

I can't find anything about it on Google, on the DJI homepage or in the DJI forums. Does anyone of you have experience or more information about the durability and where can you read out how many pictures have already been made.

I would be happy to hear from you and say thank you in advance.

Joe

Reactions: Midwest Aerotech
This is an interesting concern for us M3E owners who do a lot of photogrammetry.