Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Thinking of getting my Part 107 in San Diego

Reaction score
I'm a retired engineer looking for a part time gig. 2 reasons: I want to stay busy and make some pocket money.

I'm thinking of getting my Part 107 via this local community college offering: Course Offerings

2 questions:
#1: Do these look like good courses?
#2: What do folks think about DroneBase? I see a lot of mixed reviews.

I'm leaning more towards mapping/inspections etc. That seems more interesting to me.

I'm in San Diego CA if it matters.

Thanks for any replies in advance

Welcome to the forum.
Please and do be sure you have read our guidelines.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching . 👍

Reactions: GFields
Greetings from Birmingham Alabama USA, welcome to the forum!

Dronebase, like any platform, advertises the client's budgeted amount. Usually on the low side. With Dronebase, you take it or leave it. On Droners.io I have often negotiated higher prices.

Reactions: dirkclod
Many thanks for the reply. I will look into droners.io. Are there other sites available to look for gig work once I have my Part 107?

in my area droners.io customersalways offers jobs at pathetically low fees. Attempts to get a bit more don’t work. There are plenty of people who will lowball to get the work, which is below the the real cost of doing it. Can you amortize your drone, computer, car, pay taxes, get some profit, pay health and retirement savings for $125 a job that takes 3-4 hours total time to do? If so, sign up.

Reactions: JimD