Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Those who are "processing" your own images (stitching) etc for mapping. . .

BigAl07

Administrator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
DSAR Member
Reaction score
I don't do enough to subscribe Pix4D (yet) and until NC gets their act together and quits trying to process those of us doing photogrammetry I'm not going to do a lot of marketing/investing for this service. But (isn't there always a but?) I need a new laptop and I'm trying to decide if it's feasible to go ahead and get one robust enough to do the processing for me.

Right now I use MapsMadeEasy and it does a good job and my clients like the finished product/data but there is a per map cost associated. I'm just weighing my options and trying to see what others are using for creating maps other than MME or Pix4D.

What stitching software are you using and why?

Thanks in advance,
Allen

Reactions: dirkclod
WebODM.

I'm just getting into this, so I have no clients...so I'm not paying for a service. :) I'm currently trying WebODM, which runs in a docker container on my new, fairly beefy, PC. A project with 255 photos, at full res, takes a little over an hour.

I'm also using Microsoft ICE for the 360 panos, and it works splendidly.

Reactions: BigAl07
My projects recently average between 500 and 900 images so not incredibly large so if they could process over night I'd be golden with that.

If you have the funds, you'll never regret getting a laptop powerful enough to process these...even if you never process any! :) Moar horsepower is always gooder!

Reactions: BigAl07
If you have the funds, you'll never regret getting a laptop powerful enough to process these...even if you never process any! :) Moar horsepower is always gooder!

That's my idea too :) I really should just "do it" because my current laptop is 8 years old so I've gotten the GOOD out of it many times over now. I guess I'm off to research laptops now :)

Alan,