Trade Shows

amcgibbon

Reaction score
There are two trade shows coming up in Las Vegas. They are:

Interdrone
Sep 3-6

Commercial UAV Expos America
Oct 28-30

Does anyone have experience with either of these shows? I am an architectural and real estate photographer and I am always interested in learning more and staying on top of the latest UAV developments. Do you have any recommendations on which show would be better to attend? I can't do both.

Thanks in advance.

I speak any both shows, I have a booth at both shows, I have been attending both shows since they started 5 years ago. InterDrone is very consumer friendly and forward facing. The venders and speakers tend to target the extreme enthusiast, and the start up or small business owner or people such as yourself that like to add "drones" to their current work flow. The Commercial Drone Expo is just as it sounds. It tends to target bigger companies and people who are already using drone in their existing businesses. InterDrone has more connections to photography and videography. I have been doing a Videography Seminar called Drones Over Hollywood since the show started 5 years ago. The Commercial Drone Expo on acknowledged photography as a "drone commercial enterprise" a couple years ago. The Commercial Drone Expo was mostly mapping, surveying, first responder kind of show. If you can do both, do both. As a Photographer do InterDrone.

Reactions: makneyse
I’ve also been to and exhibited at both shows, and agree with Skiptv’s assessment. The one thing I’ll add is that if you only have funds for one show a year, consider the grand-daddy of them all: AUVSI Xponential, held in the spring. 2020 is in Boston. It is dramatically bigger than either of the others - also is focused on commercial (and some defense) not hobby market.

I'm going to the UAV in October 28-30, 2019. If anyone up here in Northern California wants to go, I have two seats left on the plane, we are splitting costs.