Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Commercial pricing and rate structure questions..

Sonic Pilot

Reaction score
Good morning all...

I am a retired Commercial Helicopter pilot looking to get into the drone business. I'm currently looking at the Typhoon H Plus as my primary platform for getting started.

Generally speaking, how are most drone companies setting up their rate structure? Are they charging a "Flight Time" rate and another rate for "Ground Time?" Or perhaps just a flat rate for a job?

What are the going rates for photo/filming and/or tower or structure inspections?

I realize that different markets may have different pricing, but I am just trying to get a general sense as to what the price "range" might be for providing this type of service professionally.

Thanks in advance for any advice!!

First off WELCOME to the forum :)

Is there a specific reason why you have chosen the Typhoon as your aircraft of choice? I'm not saying it's a bad choice but there are much better IMHO.

In terms of "Pricing" that depends on your market and the Industry you are in. Often times Tower Inspections are a "per tower fee" which is fine if no travel is involved but you can lose your bottom $$ once all of your local towers are done.

We price our jobs per job and this includes travel (to/from), preplanning, time on site, post processing, and any additional time expected to complete the "Order".

A Real Estate photo shoot is much quicker (easier and cheaper) than a large Orthomosaic project and priced accordingly.

Here are a couple of links that I think you might be able to utilize to get more information:

Good luck and again WELCOME to the forum :)

Reactions: RGB and Hawkwind
First off WELCOME to the forum :)

Is there a specific reason why you have chosen the Typhoon as your aircraft of choice? I'm not saying it's a bad choice but there are much better IMHO.