Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

DJI and "Pay for Play"

CERTIFIED AND LICENSED USERS:

DJI would like to know how much and how often you will be willing to pay to unlock your assets. (you knew it was coming)

You have the opportunity to take the survey and let DJI know (in a polite way please) how you feel about artificial restrictions placed upon properly certified users and then the scheme of charging a sizable fee, possibly annually, to remove them.

Industrial Unlocks
Took the suvey. This is ridiculous our government's already regulate the air space and we need to get approval from them we do not need dji's approval for that.

I'm just getting started, having passed my part 107 test just last week; I was leaning towards DJI for my first UAS purchase, but will take a closer look at Yuneec, after reading about this.

This is exactly why I have been saying from the beginning, that DJI (A foreign Chineese company) dictating to private US companies what they can and cannot do. We already have the FAA, and DJI need to stay out of the regulating business as they have no authroitity to rgulate ANYONE in the USA. Nuff said. Except our federal government should tell DJI to go pound sand and just produce aircraft, not regulate us. Call your congressman, Senator, Governor.

According to Tahoe Ed (DJI enterprise support), DJI will still offer unlocking like is available now for no cost. If you would like DJI to evaluate your operation to see if it meets "their standards" and pay the yet-to-be determined fee, they will allow you to turn GEO off until your next payment (should they decide on a subscription model).

Oh, and Ed says that the majority of commercial users support their geofencing scheme and have no problem with DJI maintaining a nanny position over certified operators in the same way as with casual hobby users. When asked for his data to support this claim he has no response.