Welcome, Commercial Drone Pilots!
Join our growing community today!

Emergency Management - Public COA Pilot

Eric Gildersleeve

Reaction score
Hello,

While I am not your traditional commercial pilot working to earn a profit, I do consider myself to be a professional pilot. I am an Emergency Manager and fly two aircraft at this time an I1Prov2 and an MP.

We are currently flying public safety missions, fire scene evidence collection, aerial mapping, search and rescue, and post disaster missions. We do all of this currently under three Public Certifcates of Authorizarion issued by the FAA.

One of our COAs is your standard Blanket Class G with night operations. Our first we will let expire, it is a jurisdictional Class A, B, C, and G airspace up to 400 feet and did not include any waivers. Our third which is the one I am most proud of is a jurisdictional with the same classes as the other but also includes E and night operation. I can fly up to 500 AGL under this COA county wide and up to 2000 AGL around one radio tower which is located to the NW of our county.

I am the primary PIC but we have four others that like to run camera. They are also my VO.

If anyone else is interested in helping develop their COA for their agency I am willing to assist.

Eric KD7CAO
Denton County, TX

Welcome to our newest forum .
Take a little time and look around all our subforums to find what suits you and besure to read our Guidelines and ask if you have any questions in a message to any of the staff .
Enjoy all the knowledge members have to offer .
0rojyyg-png.60

Also be sure and visit this thread CDP Giveaway - Phantom 4 Pro... :)

Hi Eric
I assume you must have developed a series of operational guidelines, which these documents could be called several names as you have refined them.